Melbourne Hostel winner of 2012! Habitat HQ is Melbourne's No 1. backpacker and your next home away from home.

Stay at the best hostel in Melbourne & experience the city differently

For reassurance of our authenticity & ethical approach, our guest feedback comments are from independent sources, which in our modern world is ‘online word of mouth’. All our guest reviews are provided to us from credible independent accommodation booking sites.

Habitat HQ was awarded the 6th best hostel in Australia & the 9th best hostel in Oceania at the 2012 Hoscar Awards held by Hostelworld.com in Dublin, Ireland. The Hoscars are the only awards in the travel industry decided exclusively by guest reviews.

We are so excited to have received these awards as we are dedicated to providing the best backpacker experience in Melbourne, so thank you to all those who took the few minutes to review us. It means the world to our business & spreading the Habitat HQ love.

Extremely nice Hostel, located in St. Kilda where there is plenty to do. Only 3 blocks from the library, and a few more to restaurants and grocery stores. Hostel has free wifi, and the place is kept clean. The beds are really comfy, and the bathrooms are well maintained as well as the kitchen being kept clean. I enjoyed my stay, it was a little bit pricey, but it was a nice place. I had a great time there on Australia day, which the staff had a cooked food on the frill for us. I would recommend.

USA Male 31 - 40yrs - Hostelworld 93%
2012/01/23

From the moment I stepped into Habitat I knew I had chose a brilliant hostel. The staff were so helpful and friendly you could literally ask them any question. The rooms were clean and had a/c which is always a bonus. The bathroom was clean, the laundry room was great too. The only thing was the kitchen wasnt the cleanest but as so many people use it, it can't be immaculate. The quiet tv great. Good security. They have weekly free bbqs, activities everyday. Would definitely recommend staying at this hostel and I was sad to leave!

Halifax - UK - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2012/01/23

This was the second hostel I have stayed in and I loved it. After staying at Nomads Melbourne this was like a 5 star hotel. The rooms are cleaned everyday, they all have air conditioning, the bathrooms are spotless, friendly staff and a huge kitchen. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. We have been staying in a 10 bed all female door and it has been very very good.

Nikita H - Whitehorse - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2012/02/19

The people here r great, it's my first hostel in oz n they made me feel rite at home and were there when ever needed help.

Independent Traveller - Hostelbookers 88.6%
2012/02/18

Close to the beach & Luna Park. Only 15min tram ride into the city or $20 cab fee. Stayed in a private room which was very clean & well kept, friendly staff & great area in general.

John McKenzie - Hostelbookers 100%
2012/01/25

This place is awesome. A friend and I shelled out a bit more money for a private room and were pleasantly surprised. It was as good as a hotel, sheets and towels provided, lovely and quiet and in a really awesome location. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

Wellington, New Zealand - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2012/01/23

I was on a solo trip to mel, a little shaky because it was my first time staying in a backpackers hostel. To my surprise the place was great, the staff was friendly. it was safe,clean and quiet thru-out my stay, recommeded to the ladies =)

St kilda was within walking distance however it was not within walking distance to the main city area. But tram was provided and within reach. Recommended to all =)

Room Tip: if you are a girl, choose the all gals bunk and no worries its safe!

Peili - Singapore - TripAdvisor 4 out of 5
2012/01/18

TRAVEL HQ testamonial Hi Camille,

I wanted to thank you for all your travel help and advice on what to do up the east coast at the end of November. We were both really impressed with how much you were able to help us and all the work you did calling around to get us the best rates. The Spaceship van was perfect and we had such a great time! You were amazing to help us plan based on the timeframe we were working with. We really appreciated you taking the time to help us out so we could have the best possible experience and were thankful for all your tips : ) Thanks so much! Amy

Amy Marie Morrow - Canada
2012/01/09

this hostel is very clean, you can find some sleep and u ve fun there!! they offer u cool tours, through the town, sightseeing, free stuff as well. cheap bbq nites and drinks. they clean the bathrooms at nite, so u dont ve the problem in the morning, when u wanna ve a shower, that u cant access the bathrooms, because they get cleaned. very very cool idea. love it!!!

Germany - Female 25 - 30 - Hostelworld 90%
2011/11/23

"Great hostel by far one of the best" This hostel is fantastic. The rooms are clean. The kitchen is by far the biggest I have come across in Australia and its clean! There is a nice courtyard and a huge social area inside too. The bathrooms are really modern. There is parking and it's only 5 minutes walk t fitzroy street and a few more to the beach, we stayed over Xmas and had a great time we ended up staying 3 more days than planned. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for great value for money and a really good standard of hostel! Also the tram stop into the city is right outside! Perfect!

Room Tip: The privates are really nice but the dorms are also good for the money.

Neens946 - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2012/01/28

great bbq on thur night with free beer and wine. one of the best i have stayed at.

USA Male 18-24 - Hostelworld 100%
2012/12/19

Good stuff. Would stay there again. Outdoors terrace in summer is dope (we think this means it is great). Common area good for meeting good peoples.

Italy - Male 25 - 30, Hostelworld 90%
2012/12/27

Nice relaxed atmosphere, easy to meet people and have fun. St Kilda is an interesting place to be.

Kieran Randell - Hostelbookers 91.4%
2012/02/03

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were big, spacious and clean. Great common areas and with plenty of different tours and activities on every day it gives you a great chance to meet the people!! 10/10

Ireland - Female 18 - 24 - Hostelworld 100%
2012/01/05

"Amazing friendly staff who bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your time at Habitat" I originally only planned to stay 4 days and move on. After a slow start, I quickly started to make friends and 3 three weeks later I have some friends for life and some brilliant stories and memories from Habitat HQ. Highlights are the acoustic night, open mic night, pub crawls to meet new people, free conservation day with the walking encyclopaedia Lee! and free walking tour of Melbourne wih Chuck. The best part was winning a two day trip along the Great Ocean Road at the free BBQ! Also I booked my whole East Coast trip with Camille! She is fabulous!! I loved it so much I'm going back next week! Thanks Habitat :)

Helen R Gill - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2011/11/28

On arrival at habitat (@10am) our 8 bed dorm wasnt ready for us so we were promptly upgraded to a 6 bed dorm at no extra charge.spent 2 nites in the 6 dorm but the repetitive snoring of 4 of our room mates we cldnt stay any longer so for the remainder of our stay we had the luxury of a double room,this was just like a really nice hotel room with en suite,found all parts of the hostel very clean and staff very helpful and approachable,would def go back.!

Scotland Male 25-30 - Hostelworld 100%
2011/10/20

Es war wirklich sehr sauber. Die zimmer waren gut. moderner zustand auch das badezimmer war tiptop. Als wir da waren haben sie sogar den alten radio ausgewechselt durch ein wecker mit einer ladestation für s iphone. Sehr fortschritlich. Das einzige was ich bemängel kan ist das travel hq die öffnungszeiten waren zwar angeschrieben es war aber selten jemand da der dier für deine weiterreise helfen konnte... Ansonsten wirklich gutes hostel!!

TripAdvisor - German 4 out of 5
2012/02/21

Que dire à part AU TOP !!! Pour avoir visité quelques autres backpackr, vraiment c'est le meilleur de tout St Kilda !!! Outre les aménagements nombreux et très utile vous trouverez une ambiance chaleureuse et convivial entretenu aussi bien par les clients que par l'ensemble du staff qui se donne les moyens d'animer votre séjour comme il se doit. Remerciement tout particulier à Camille, toujours dispo pour es conseils utiles et pour faire partager les bons plans. Merci beaucoup pour ce séjours inoubliable !!! Je le recommande vraiment a tout ce qui passe sur Melbourne.

Anne-Sophie Cantournet
2012/05/11

Having travelled through Europe Asia and Australia I can say this is the best hostel I've been to. It offers all the facilities u need, has lovely staff and literally became my home away from home.

Trip Advisor Clairt123
2013/02/16

I stayed at Habitat for over 5 weeks after originally planning to stay for just a few days! If you're planning a trip to Melbourne I would highly recommend it. It's outside the city but close to the beach in St Kilda and everything is so easy to travel to. There is a tram right outside which goes directly to the city, supermarkets across the road. The facilities are awesome and there are daily events put on by Habitat. It was the first place I stayed traveling on my own and I left with friends for life including some of the staff.

Trip Advisor - Todd C
2013/02/12