Melbourne Hostel winner of 2012! Habitat HQ is Melbourne's No 1. backpacker and your next home away from home.

Stay at the best hostel in Melbourne & experience the city differently

For reassurance of our authenticity & ethical approach, our guest feedback comments are from independent sources, which in our modern world is ‘online word of mouth’. All our guest reviews are provided to us from credible independent accommodation booking sites.

Habitat HQ was awarded the 6th best hostel in Australia & the 9th best hostel in Oceania at the 2012 Hoscar Awards held by Hostelworld.com in Dublin, Ireland. The Hoscars are the only awards in the travel industry decided exclusively by guest reviews.

We are so excited to have received these awards as we are dedicated to providing the best backpacker experience in Melbourne, so thank you to all those who took the few minutes to review us. It means the world to our business & spreading the Habitat HQ love.

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for more. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and the long term guests can be kind of intimidating, but not here. This place has an amazing vibe, lots of cool events happening and the staff are some of the friendliest people I have come across, they were always walking around and engaging rather than just sitting behind a desk. You didn't even feel the need to spend money to go out in the city, it was so much fun just to sit in the common areas and have a few drinks with the other backpackers. Bathrooms were very clean, common spaces were huge and for us tourists, it was a very convenient tram ride into the CBD. I will definitely be back to Habitat HQ in the future!

Boyce - USA - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2014/06/01

This hostel is awesome! Stayed here just for 3 nigths, but wanted to stay for ages. Staff is super friendly, kitchen is clean and dorms are spacious enough. Was here on an insanely good karaoke night, definitely a night to remember. Love St. Kilda, love Habitat HQ. Next time in Melbourne I will stay for sure!

Marleen, Netherlands - Trip Advisor 5/5
2014/04/18

Stayed there 4 nights in a double room. This hostel is amazing, friendly staff, the kitchen is big and clean, everything is well organize and the location is great!! loved St Kilda!! The room was big, clean and with a private bathroom..what could I ask more?! best experience ever, best hostel ever, I definitely recommend this hostel to all my friends. I will definitely be back to Habitat HQ in the future!

Marco - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2014/06/23

Stayed in a private room en-suite. Spotlessly clean, spacious and quiet. Free tea and coffee in the room which was great! Staff are extremely helpful and informative. Loved the location, tram outside the door to get to and from the city and a short walk to St Kilda's beach with all the shops, bars and restaurants at your finger tips. Will definitely stay again, great hostel!

Sarah - Sydney - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2013/11/13

Great hostel! Lovely quiet clean dorm rooms. Helpful staff. Great location loved st kilda. Very nice outside area. Nice communal area! Very traveller friendly. Highly recommend it. A very "green" hostel.

Samantha, Brixton, UK Trip advisor 5 out of 5
2014/03/23

"Great hostel by far one of the best" This hostel is fantastic. The rooms are clean. The kitchen is by far the biggest I have come across in Australia and its clean! There is a nice courtyard and a huge social area inside too. The bathrooms are really modern. There is parking and it's only 5 minutes walk t fitzroy street and a few more to the beach, we stayed over Xmas and had a great time we ended up staying 3 more days than planned. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for great value for money and a really good standard of hostel! Also the tram stop into the city is right outside! Perfect!

Room Tip: The privates are really nice but the dorms are also good for the money.

Neens946 - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2012/01/28

We loved our stayed here. so clean and organized and all the staff are so friendly and helpful it was a nice atmosphere. best hostel ive stayed in yet!! smiles all round

Anonymous female traveller, HostelWorld 94%
2014/03/05

"Amazing friendly staff who bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your time at Habitat" I originally only planned to stay 4 days and move on. After a slow start, I quickly started to make friends and 3 three weeks later I have some friends for life and some brilliant stories and memories from Habitat HQ. Highlights are the acoustic night, open mic night, pub crawls to meet new people, free conservation day with the walking encyclopaedia Lee! and free walking tour of Melbourne wih Chuck. The best part was winning a two day trip along the Great Ocean Road at the free BBQ! Also I booked my whole East Coast trip with Camille! She is fabulous!! I loved it so much I'm going back next week! Thanks Habitat :)

Helen R Gill - TripAdvisor 5 out of 5
2011/11/28

had an absolute ball, extended my stay. Great vibe, loads of live music in house! Loved it!

English Female 25-30 - Hostelworld 100%
2014/02/20

Es war wirklich sehr sauber. Die zimmer waren gut. moderner zustand auch das badezimmer war tiptop. Als wir da waren haben sie sogar den alten radio ausgewechselt durch ein wecker mit einer ladestation für s iphone. Sehr fortschritlich. Das einzige was ich bemängel kan ist das travel hq die öffnungszeiten waren zwar angeschrieben es war aber selten jemand da der dier für deine weiterreise helfen konnte... Ansonsten wirklich gutes hostel!!

TripAdvisor - German 4 out of 5
2012/02/21

Home in Melbourne! Absolutely no bad things to say about Habitat HQ- the location is great, the staff amazing, and the atmosphere so fun! I had originally planned to stay two days in Melbourne but I loved habitat and all the people so much that I stayed three weeks. Definitely the place to be in St. Kilda!

Canadian Female Solo traveller 100% Hostel World
2014/03/11

Having travelled through Europe Asia and Australia I can say this is the best hostel I've been to. It offers all the facilities u need, has lovely staff and literally became my home away from home.

Trip Advisor Clairt123
2013/02/16

I stayed at Habitat for over 5 weeks after originally planning to stay for just a few days! If you're planning a trip to Melbourne I would highly recommend it. It's outside the city but close to the beach in St Kilda and everything is so easy to travel to. There is a tram right outside which goes directly to the city, supermarkets across the road. The facilities are awesome and there are daily events put on by Habitat. It was the first place I stayed traveling on my own and I left with friends for life including some of the staff.

Trip Advisor - Todd C
2013/02/12

Value for the money & very clean place. Large room with space

Soon Family, Booking.Com 9.2 out of 10
2014/06/17